Quick Answer: What Is The Use Of Archive Chat In WhatsApp?

Does the other person know if you archive a chat in Messenger?

For both delete and archive, when the other person messages you, the message will appear in your inbox and you will be notified about it like any other message.

However, in case of the archive, the previous messages will still be there, but the chat thread will be empty for deleted messages..

What is the point of archiving?

The point of archiving is to give you a central location to store mails that you no longer need direct access to. It also ensures your inbox is kept clean and attachments and other files are kept safe.

What happens when we archive a chat in Messenger?

Archiving a conversation hides it from your inbox until the next time you chat with that person, while deleting a conversation permanently removes the message history from your inbox. To archive a conversation: Desktop App: To the left, right click on the conversation you’d like to archive.

Does the other person know when you delete a conversation on Messenger?

If you’re using the Messenger app and what to delete messages on Messenger, tap and hold the message and then tap the “Delete” button. … The message is then deleted from your copy of the conversation, but it remains in the correspondence of anyone you sent it to.

How do I ignore someone on WhatsApp without blocking them?

Go to your phone settings (under the general Android settings) >> Apps>> Open list of Apps>>Select WhatsApp. Then click on ‘Force stop’.

How do I find my archived messages?

If a message has been archived, you can find it by opening the All mail label. Tap All mail.

Can you still receive messages from archived chats on WhatsApp?

Can You Receive Messages from Archived Chats. Yes. Once you archive a chat, it merely hides it from the main view and nothing else. So if you receive new messages in the archived chat, you will be notified about it, and the same conversation thread will reappear in the main list.

How do I view archived chats on WhatsApp?

View archived chats or groupsScroll to the top of the Chats tab and then pull down.Tap Archived Chats.

Can someone reply to an archived message?

If someone replies to a conversation you’ve archived, the messages will show up again in your inbox.

What happens when you archive a chat?

The archive chat feature allows you to hide an individual or group chat from your chats list to better organize your conversations. Note: … Archived individual or group chat will unarchive when you receive a new message from that individual or group chat.

How do I permanently archive WhatsApp chats?

— On the top bar, select the Archive icon. Your chat is now archived and will not show up on your Chats screen. To unarchive a chat: — Scroll to the bottom of the Chats screen.

Does Archive mean delete?

A. The Gmail app for Android gives its users two choices for discarding a new message: archive or delete. The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again. You can find archived messages by using Gmail’s search function.

Do archived emails take up storage?

Yes, messages that are archived count towards your storage quota. Even messages in the trash and spam are counted. The only difference is that messages in the spam and trash will probably be permanently deleted within 30 days, which automatically frees up space in your account.

Does archiving chats on WhatsApp save space?

Clearing chats will save you the most space in the quickest possible manner. … Note that archiving a chat simply hides it from view in the Chats tab. If you archive all of your chats, it will not reduce the amount of space WhatsApp is using because the chats are simply hidden, not deleted.

How do I ignore archived chats?

The Archived chats can be found in the main menu, and the Ignore archived chats will be part of WhatsApp settings, followed by Notifications. In notifications, users will see an option to turn on ‘Ignore Archived chat’. This will ensure that the chat only gets unarchived when a user chooses to do so.