What Does A Hard Reset Do IPhone?

How do you reset a locked iPhone?

Perform a hard reset on your phone by holding down the sleep/wake button and the Home button at the same time.

Hold the buttons until the “Connect to iTunes” screen appears.

On your computer, choose “Restore” from the iTunes screen.

This will delete all data from your phone..

How do I factory reset my iPhone without password or iTunes?

Part 4: How to factory reset iPhone without iTunesDirectly go to “Settings” > General > Reset.Select the “Erase All Content and Settings” option.Enter your password and tap on “Erase iPhone”.

Is Hard Reset bad for iPhone?

The hard restart can cause your software to start doing things, like running programs behind the scene. Completely incorrect. A reset, as Apple calls it (hard restart as you call it), will not harm your iPhone at all.

What does an iPhone soft reset do?

During a soft reset, the iPhone is turned off. During this time, it draws no power from the battery. When you store the iPhone for more than a few days, leave the power off until you need it again to prevent the battery from draining. During a hard reset, the phone remains powered on.

Does a hard reset delete everything iPhone?

A hard reset will restore the iPhone’s setting to its initial configuration by clearing all the third-party applications, data, user settings, saved passwords, and user accounts. The process would delete all stored data on the iPhone.

Is a hard reset the same as a factory reset?

A hard reset, also known as a factory reset or master reset, is the restoration of a device to the state it was in when it left the factory. All settings, applications and data added by the user are removed. … Hard reset contrasts with soft reset, which just means to restart a device.

How do I force my iPhone to factory reset?

Factory-reset your iPhoneTo reset your iPhone or iPad, go to Settings > General > Reset and then select Erase All Content and Settings.If you’ve got an iCloud backup set up, iOS will ask if you’d like to update it, so you don’t lose unsaved data.More items…•

What’s the difference between hard reset and factory reset?

The two terms factory and hard reset are associated with settings. A factory reset relates to the rebooting of the entire system, while hard resets relates to the resetting of any hardware in the system.

Is hard reset safe?

Using the Hard Reset is safe and should not cause any damage. After using this feature, your device will have the software and set of applications as the moment they leave the factory.

Does a hard reset on iPhone 7 erase everything?

The hard reset is a lot more dramatic. It totally erases all the information on your iPhone 7 and restores it to factory settings, which is why the hard reset is also known as a factory reset.

How do I hard reset my iPhone with buttons?

Executing a Hard Reset of Your iPhone Press and hold your Sleep/Wake button next. The Slide to Power Off slider will pop up. Move it from left to right, resetting the iPhone. If you have an earlier generation of the iPhone, then do a hard reset by holding your Home button and your Sleep/Wake button.

What does a hard reset do?

A factory data reset erases your data from the phone. While data stored in your Google Account can be restored, all apps and their data will be uninstalled. To be ready to restore your data, make sure that it’s in your Google Account.

What will I lose if I reset my iPhone?

Reset after iCloud or iTunes backup When you Erase All Content and Settings, it completely resets your device. All information including apps, photos, videos, contacts, messages, calendar, or music etc. are lost. In order to restore your iPhone after factory reset, first take the backup of data in iCloud or iTunes.

Will a hard reset delete my photos?

Regardless of whether you use a Blackberry, Android, iPhone or Windows phone, any photos or personal data will be irretrievably lost during a factory reset. You can’t get it back unless you have it backed up first.